Search Menu

The Chief Executive and the management group

The Chief Executive of the Blood Service is in charge of the operations of the Blood Service and their further development. The Management Group supports him in his duties.

Pia Westman is the Chief Executive of the Blood Service. The Management Group include Jarkko Ihalainen (medical director), Satu Pastila (blood donation operations), Katarina Stendahl (financial services), Heikki Myllyniemi (information management services) Willy Toiviainen (communications and human resources) and Kari Aranko (quality and R&D).

Pia Westman

Satu Pastila

Jarkko Ihalainen

Katarina Stendahl

Heikki Myllyniemi

Willy Toiviainen

Kari Aranko


The Directorate of the Blood Service

The Blood Service is part of the Finnish Red Cross and has a separate administration. In between the FRC general assemblies and council meetings, the highest authority in matters regarding the Blood Service is vested in the Board of the FRC, which is also responsible for the activities and finances of the Blood Service. The Board of the FRC appoints the Directorate of the Blood Service.

The duties of the Directorate of the Blood Service include strategic planning and supervising the safety and effectiveness of operations. The Directorate of the Blood Service comprises a chairperson, a deputy chairperson and four members. Together, they represent multidisciplinary expertise within the areas of the Blood Service’s activities. The Secretary General of the organisation is entitled to attend and speak at Directorate meetings.

Directorate members are:

Piia Aarnisalo (chair), Harri Jokiranta, Maija Laaksonen, Tarmo Martikainen, Eero Rämö