Search Menu

Restrictions on blood donation for European travellers as of 12 July 2021

7/12/2021 0:00

In addition to the coronavirus pandemic, the West Nile Virus (WNV) transmission season will cause blood donation restrictions for European travellers from 12 July onwards.

Due to the WNV transmission season in the following areas, a donor restriction period of 28 days will be applied from your first date of travel in the country in question (after a stay of more than 20 hours). The restriction will be imposed from the 12 July 2021:

  • Bulgaria
  • Southwest Spain
  • Italy (all regions other than Rome and Sardinia)
  • Greek mainland, including the Peloponnese Peninsula and the Island of Evia (Euboia)
  • Romania
  • Hungary
  • Austria; Vienna and its eastern side (from 23 August).

Visiting West Nile virus risk areas during the virus transmission season (12 July – 30 November) makes returning travellers ineligible for blood donation for a period of four weeks, as even asymptomatic donors can pass on the virus through blood transfusion. While many infected people have no symptoms, some may experience fever, nausea and headache. Approximately 1% of those infected may develop a severe inflammation of the brain (encephalitis).